The Office of Student Financial Aid awards the following scholarships to first-year incoming freshmen. No scholarship application is required; however, for those scholarships that require financial need, students must file the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) as soon as possible after October 1 prior to their freshmen year at the University of Iowa.

Iowa Residents

Donna R. Wollenberg Scholarship--Awarded to first-year Iowa students. Must demonstrate financial need and have a minimum 2.5 grade point average. May be renewed depending upon available funding.

Iowa Counties

Adams and Montgomery

Larry & Jeanette Waters Endowed Fund--To entering first-year students with financial need. Preference is given to students from Southwest Valley Community School District. No application is required.


Donald and Ethel Hamdorf Scholarship--To provide support to first-year students from Clinton County, Iowa, who demonstrate financial need. This scholarship is non-renewable.

Otto H. & Ethel Bohart Henningsen--Awarded to a worthy University of Iowa student from Clinton County. Academic merit is the primary factor and financial need is secondary.


Ruth Ann Daly Scholarship--To freshmen students from Johnson County who demonstrate financial need by filing the FAFSA.


Dr. Carl E. and Edna Liabo Scholarship--To an entering freshman with preference given to students from Linn County.  Students must show financial need. The scholarship may be renewable for up to three additional years as long as the recipient remains in good standing at The University of Iowa and continues to show financial need by filing the FAFSA each year.


Terry and Pam Hopper Fund--To provide support to needy first-year students from Webster County. This scholarship is renewable, depending upon funding availability and academics.

Iowa Town/City


Scott German Scholarship--To selected entering first-year students from Maquoketa, Iowa. Financial need, determined by filing the FAFSA, is considered.

Wilton (or within a 25-mile radius)

Harry H. & Nellie B. Griffith Fund--To entering first-year students from Wilton, Iowa, or any town within a 25-mile radius of Wilton, Iowa. Students must be enrolled full-time. May be renewed up to three years, if full-time enrollment status and 2.00 UI cumulative grade-point average are maintained.

If you have questions, email